Rail Sector and Hillcrest Girls School

Watch Topic

Online session between the Rail Sector and Hillcrest Girls School.

Discussion Topic: Women in Rail

Date: 8th Nov 2018 at 14.30

1 2 3 4 5 > >>
1 cristinagalvan (Senior Engineer (Control Command Signalling)) 5 years ago
cristinagalvan

Hi, I’m Cristina and I am a Senior Engineer at Network Rail. I will be participating in your session and answering your questions this afternoon

2 cristinagalvan (Senior Engineer (Control Command Signalling)) 5 years ago
cristinagalvan

A bit about myself… I studied Telecommunications Engineering in my native Spain before moving to England. I continued my studies in England completing an MSc in Computing Science. I joined a big telecoms company after that, and a couple of years later I joined Network Rail.

3 cristinagalvan (Senior Engineer (Control Command Signalling)) 5 years ago
cristinagalvan

A bit about myself in Network [link removed] I’ve held quite a few engineering roles in Network Rail (all related to my telecoms background). My current role is all about defining the requirements for the future signalling systems. Previous roles included approving the equipment to be used in the communication network, designing communications networks, and defining/implementing telecommunications systems

4 cristinagalvan (Senior Engineer (Control Command Signalling)) 5 years ago
cristinagalvan

In the session you may want to ask questions about:

What is like to be an woman in Network Rail
The range of roles (not just engineering!) – though I think engineering is a great profession 😊
Career progression in Network Rail

5 MrsAbbotts (Head of Careers) 5 years ago
MrsAbbotts

Hi Cristina
Thank you for your posts. We are an all girls school in the City of Birmingham with approximately 500 students. Many of our students do not know much about the rail sector or engineering so it will be fantastic for them to gain an insight in to it. We look forward to talking with you at 2:30pm