Rail Sector and ENLUTC

Watch Topic

Online session between the Rail Sector and Engineering UTC Northern Lincolnshire

Discussion Topic: Rail Engineering & Technology, Apprenticeships

Date: 8th Nov 2018 at 09.40

1 2 > >>
1 Colin_Newsome (Engineering Expert, Safety, Technology and Engineering) 5 years ago
Colin_Newsome

Hi, my name is Colin and I work for Network Rail Engineering.
I am a Chartered Civil Engineer with many years of experience in railway civil engineering – that’s bridges, tunnels, embankments and track. I started my career by designing and building new bridges and routes. After 6 years practical experience, I passed my professional review with the Institution of Civil Engineers I then progressed to maintaining tracks operating at speeds of up to 100mph / 160kph through a team of technical engineers and staff.
Whether choosing to maintain the existing network or build new schemes requires the best options for investment to be assessed. The costs are significant and the benefits to the travelling public and train operators considered for the next 30-40 years.
I have helped people develop in civil engineering whether they went to university or chose a more practical start to their career. Engineering is truly an investment for all our futures and I hope you will want to explore the opportunities available in the UK and around the world.

2 cboden (Business Engagement Leader) 5 years ago
cboden

Hi Colin,
Thank you for your post, that's brilliant. I am the Business Engagement Leader at the Engineering UTC and my role is to support students with finding out more about opportunities within the engineering sector. We are a 14-19 provision and based in Scunthorpe. Our students chose to join us at either year 10 or year 12 and studying a mainstream GCSE curriculum including English, Maths and Science but then studying Engineering as their option subjects.