Rail Sector and Cullompton Community College

Watch Topic

Online session between the Rail Sector and Cullompton Community College.

Discussion Topic: Rail Engineering & Technology

Date: 7th Nov 2018 at 13.30

1 2 3 4 > >>
1 gy (teacher and careers leader) 5 years ago
gy

Hi my name is Guy, I'm a science teacher and the careers leader here hence my interest in using new routes to share career information with our students. For this event we have some Y9 Science Stars, so named because they have a real flair for science and assist with our science club and also attend all our STEM cafe events where guest speakers visit and talk about their work. I think transport infrastructure is really exciting and with the promised HS2 and need to develop SW rail links there will be many interesting and diverse job roles in the sector. Better for the students to hear that from and expert though rather than me!

2 IDean (Principal Engineer Track) 5 years ago
IDean

Greetings, I'm Ian Dean. I was formally a Marine Engineer working for Gas & Oil companies maintaining the biggest shipping carriers that sail on the international oceans. I've been a track Engineer for the last 15 years & spent the last 5years working at the HQ of Network Rail for the Professional Head of Track. I've been involved on & off with STEM with activities such as the Big Bang & supported two schools with projects that presented there.
If you have any questions related to my time served in this (or my former) industry then please ask as I've worked in many roles from maintenance, front line track installation, asset management strategy, specification of projects, managing the engineering delivery of projects, compliance, assurance, writing standards & answering recommendations to investigations. I also represent the UK (BSI) at several Engineering Standards committee's in Europe (CEN) & World Wide (ISO); as I am the company's leading expert on Track Geometry.